New Jersey Cell Phone Car Accident Attorneys
Proudly serving all of New Jersey
What to Do After a Cell Phone Car Accident
The experienced and tenacious NJ attorneys at Lependorf & Silverstein, P.C. are dedicated to providing each and every client with the legal representation needed to overcome the challenges of a cell phone accident. By taking action against the negligent driver, you or your loved one may obtain significant financial compensation to cover the many costs of a car accident. Contact us online or by dialing (609) 240-0040 for a free initial consultation.
Even though the dangers of distracted driving are well-known and several state laws have been passed prohibiting cell phone use behind the wheel, many New Jersey drivers still try to multi-task while driving by making phone calls or sending text messages. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), the manual, visual, and cognitive distractions from using a cell phone increase the risk of being involved in a collision by three times.
Cell phone related car accidents are a big problem, although they are largely under-reported.
What are New Jersey's Cell Phone Driving Laws?
New Jersey has the strictest cell phone driving laws in the country. Along with nine other states, it is illegal for drivers of all ages to use a handheld phone while operating a vehicle or even texting from behind the wheel. Drivers younger than 21 are prohibited from using a hands-free cell phone or electronic device while driving.
The penalties for using a handheld cell phone to talk or text in New Jersey include a maximum fine of $400 for a first offense, a maximum fine of $600 for a second offense, and a maximum fine of $800 for a third or more offenses. It is also possible for at-fault drivers to lose their driver's license for 90 days after a third or subsequent offense.
Can You Prove a Driver was Using a Cell Phone Behind the Wheel?
It can be particularly difficult to prove that a driver was using his or her cell phone while driving; however, with the guidance and resources of a skilled New Jersey car accident attorney, accident survivors may find sufficient evidence to hold the at-fault driver accountable. For example, the following types of evidence may prove that a driver was negligent and distracted at the time of the accident:
- Cell phone records
- Traffic surveillance footage
- Eye witness testimony
- Police reports
The Princeton cell phone crash lawyers at Lependorf & Silverstein, P.C. work tirelessly on behalf of our clients who have been harmed by distracted drivers.
NJ Auto Accident Attorneys Protecting Your Right to Compensation
If you or someone you care about has been injured or worse in a cell phone accident due to another driver's bad judgment in New Jersey, please contact Lependorf & Silverstein, P.C. as soon as possible to discuss your legal rights and options. Our experienced Princeton legal team will fight to ensure that you receive the best possible outcome in a personal injury claim or lawsuit. Call us at (609) 240-0040 to set up a free and comprehensive case evaluation.
- What You Need to Know: Cell Phone Laws in New Jersey
- Why Snapchat and Driving Don’t Mix
- Accidents Caused by Distracted Driving and Cell Phone Use
- Cell Phone Distracted Driving Severely Underreported; That's a Big Problem
- U.S. DOT Proposes Guidelines to Address Driver Distraction Caused by Mobile Devices in Vehicles
Call Our Office At (609) 240-0040 Today for Help
Submit the following form for a Free Consultation and we will contact you as soon as possible.